Witnessing You. {Poem}

photo-1472214103451-9374bd1c798e-iloveimg-resized.jpg

Shallowness of breath.

Constricting,

Pulling,

Belly—tugging at you.

Staining the Earth,

With tears of remorse,

Denial,

Loneliness & Desire.

Failing to say,

What’s truly in mind.

No idea,

How my heart feels.

Fear of pain,

It would surely cause,

Confessing to you.

Too much to bare.

Eyes,

Peering serenely,

Wondering,

Foolishly.

Lying to myself,

Imagining,

You next to me.

Silenced.

Drowning,

Pooling tears.

Seeping,

Stagnating within.

Mystery and confusion,

Dwelling inside,

A dark abyss.

Mind consumed.

Welling up.

Sadness & realization,

Consuming me.

Drowning my voice.

Whispering,

Silently.

Breathless.

Heart,

Touching you.

Dancing,

Around this firestorm.

Teasing desires,

Candlelight.

Souls,

Consumed.

Souls on fire.

Gazing,

Into the unknown.

Fearing,

What to say.

What I’d say to you.

Revealing,

Feelings.

Burning desires.

Bridges collapsed?

Laying down,

Together,

This night.

With you,

Yet still so far away.

Hearts spiraling,

Around one another.

Emanating outward,

Through the ethers.

Holding you,

Silently,

Sofly,

Gently,

Letting go.

Witnessing,

Your essence grow.

Realizing,

Retreating,

Releasing you.

Witnessing,

Admiring,

Leaving you.

Free.

Open,

Grateful.

Gradually accepting,

Eternally.

~

Image credit: Robert Lukeman, Unsplash

4 thoughts on “Witnessing You. {Poem}

  1. This is my favorite for a while of your writings. It speaks so directly to the experience I have had letting go of my Joseph. It is excruciatingly necessary to allow myself to heal and assimilate what we were together so it can be at peace and my heart can beat again.

    Like

Leave a Reply

